top of page

Featured Photographer - July 2017

When one goes travelling there are many feelings that you might experience but there was one that I, perhaps, wasn’t expecting when I visited Iceland last year. There’s nothing that really equips you to deal with the isolation that harsh snowstorms can bring and the excursion quickly became an exercise in battling the elements. Schedules were chopped, changed and at times even dropped completely due to the unpredictable weather that had struck Reykjavik, the capital

city. There were times when, although accompanied by a small bus full of tourists, you felt that the apocalypse had happened and that there was no one left to inform you. Short of a few meandering souls visible in the distance it was akin to being shipwrecked on your own private island and the feeling of solitude was made even more prominent through the juxtaposition of so few people against some of the most awe inspiring natural scenery I had ever witnessed. I am not a landscape photographer and as such there are far fewer figures in the images provided than I ever usually shoot. Although the photos document my travels quite succinctly it is perhaps one of the first times that I enjoy these photos not so much for the subject but for the feelings then invoke. It’s purely due to this reason that this photo journal is one that I occasionally browse as it reminds me - you don’t always need to be surrounded by others to enjoy yourself.

~ PN


bottom of page